Repertoire Search

Per Nørgård

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Remembering Child - Bratschkoncert nr. 1 (1986)
Work Notes
2 satster for bratsch og kammerorkester
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Soloists and Orchestra
Year Composed
23 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Per Nørgård Remembering Child - Bratschkoncert nr. 1 (1986)
Per Nørgård: REMEMBERING CHILD ( Viola concerto no. 1) - (1986)

The title refers to the original meaning of the word "remembering": Making whole. The work should not be considered as a sort of requiem for Samantha Smith - the late 13 years old fighter for nuclear disarmament - but as an evocation of the childish, creative forces in all people, young and old. Therefore the work applies thematic material of a certain "dawning" quality, including two Gregorian chants, appearing intertwined in the beginning of the 2. movement.
And therefore the work also may be considered as a tribute to the still living child-heretics, fighting against the global lunacy of grown-up, such as Eamon Burke, the Australian boy, continuing, independently, the work of Samantha.

REMEMBERING CHILD was commissioned by St. Paul Chamber Ochestra and dedicated to Pinchas Zukerman, soloist at the premiere performance ( September, 12. 1986).

Per Nørgård

Score preview

  • Ensemble
    Danish National Symphony Orchestra
    Pinchas Zukerman (viola)
    Jorma Panula
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.