Repertoire Search

Poul Ruders

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Sonate nr. 1 (1970)
Wilhelm Hansen
Solo Keyboard(s)
Year Composed
23 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score

Programme Note
Poul Ruders Sonate nr. 1 (1970)
The "Dante-Sonata" was composed in 1970, inspired by two quotations from Dante’s "La Divina Comedia", Inferno, each in its turn forming the program of the two movements.

Movement 1:
Wandering through Inferno Dante sees all those who during their life on earth were ill-tempered and discontented, and who are now doomed for all eternity to stand in mud up to their necks, fighting each other, tearing and scratching each other’s flesh.

Movement 2:
Here the doomed wretches recollect life on earth - the blessed sun and the green meadows; but it is too late to repent.
Apart from having this connection with "La Divina Comedia" the title: Dante-Sonata has a dialectical and music-historical reference, a reference to Franz Liszt’s Dante Sonata, without quoting from it in any way. An elusive "air" of the music of bygone days can be percieved in the second movement, which with its many types of graces is reminiscent of a slow movement of a Baroque dance.

Dante-Sonata is dedicated to Elisabeth Klein.

- Poul Ruders

  • Soloist(s)
    Rolf Hind (piano)
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.