Repertoire Search

Poul Ruders

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Four Dances in One Movement (1983)
Work Notes
For big band
Wilhelm Hansen
Large Ensemble (7 or more players)
Year Composed
18 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score

Programme Note
Poul Ruders Four Dances in One Movement (1983)
The piece, which was commissioned and premiered by The London sinfonietta, is a multi-emotional display for virtuoso ensemble, and "entertainment" in four contrasting moods: Whispering - Rocking - Ecstatic and Extravagant. The nervous distant trembling of the first dance is later on whipped into extremely direct and muscular proportions in the last, and the mellow tunes introduced by the second dance Rocking form the principal melodic scaffolding of the remainder of the composition, in fierce competition with a horn- and trombone fanfare thrown in immediately at the start of the fast and spiky third dance Ecstatic which employs African Djoboko-rhytms.

The two horizontal elements sweep along together, virtually melting into one line, and the hammering ‘avanti’ of the coda is suddenly stopped dead by a short, significant general pause. Thereafter the work reforms and disappears into a hushed, ghost-like recapitulation of the second dance.

- Poul Ruders

Score preview

  • Ensemble
    Athelas Ensemble
    Flemming Windekilde
    Danish Music Export & Promotion:
  • Ensemble
    Aarhus Sinfonietta
    Søren K. Hansen
  • Ensemble
    Birmingham Contemporary Music Group
    Oliver Knussen
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.