Repertoire Search

Poul Ruders

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Obokoncert (1998)
Wilhelm Hansen
Soloist(s) and Large Ensemble (7 or more players)
Year Composed
20 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
   Full Score

Programme Note
Poul Ruders Obokoncert (1998)
The Small concerto for solo oboe and chamber orchestra was commissioned by The Royal Library of Copenhagen for the inauguration of a concert hall located at the new library annex, the so-called Black Diamond, September 1999.

The work as such focuses more on the contemplative and sonorously introvert, rather than more virtuosity; it is in four movements, what could be called four little tone-poems on (and inspired by) the names of the four moon craters known as: Lake of Dream - Ocean of Storms - Sea of Tranquillity - Lake of Death, four enigmatic and deeply fascinating ancient conceptions of the landscape on this our closest, but at the same time most legendary and myth-shrouded celestial body.

The work was composed in 1998 for Athelas-Sinfonietta Copenhagen and Swedish obo virtuoso Helen Jahren. The work was dedicated to Helen Jahren.

- Poul Ruders, March 1999

Score preview

  • 05 APR 2013
    Oboe Concerto US Premiere
    Obokoncert US Premiere
    Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, NY
    New York Philharmonic
    Liang Wang; Alan Gilbert, conductor

    Other Dates:
    6 April - Symphony Space, New York, NY
  • 05 APR 2013
    New York, NY
    New York Philharmonic
    Alan Gilbert, conductor

    Other Dates:
    6 April - New York, NY
  • 07 FEB 2006
    Royal Northern college of Music, Manchester, England
    RNCM New Ensemble
    Clark Rundell / Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser, conductor

It's a significant concerto, period, that creates a strong, alternative route for other composers to follow
David Patrick Stearns, artsJournalblogs,10/04/2013
Four images of lunar landscapes form a course of life where dreams evolve into storms and eventually die
Jens Brincker, Berlingske Tidende,08/09/1999
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.