Repertoire Search

Vagn Holmboe

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Monolith (1960), 76
Wilhelm Hansen
Sub Category
Large Orchestra
Year Composed
9 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score

Programme Note
Vagn Holmboe Monolith (1960), 76
Monolith (sculpture cut out of one block) was composed 1960 and is like Epitaph and Epilogue a 'Symphonic Metamorphosis'. The Technique of metamorphosis is described by Vagn Holmboe thus: 'The metamorphic development - whether this is developed through stages or in a continuous coherence - should be marked by the strictest logic, so each link in the process of development appears as an unavoidable necessity and in a constantly increasing degree points to the final change.

Vagn Holmboe

  • Ensemble
    Aalborg Symphony Orchestra
    Owain Arwel Hughes
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.