Repertoire Search

Per Nørgård

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Viltir svanir (Vilde Svaner) (1994)
Work Notes
Nørgårds tre saxofonkvartetter er: Saxofonkvartet Nr. 1-Roads to Ixtlan , 1992-93 Saxofonkvartet Nr. 2-Viltir Svanir (Wild Swans), 1994 Saxofonkvartet Nr. 3-Dansere omkring Jupiter (Dancers around Jupiter), 1995
Wilhelm Hansen
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
12 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score

Programme Note
Per Nørgård Viltir svanir (Vilde Svaner) (1994)
Viltir Svanir (Wild Swans) was commissioned and composed for The Nordic House in Reykjavik in 1994, to celebrate the 5oth anniversary of Iceland´s independence. The work´s five relatively short movements have a distinctly Nordic character which is, for this composer, easy to hear yet impossible to demonstrate.

He prefers, therefore, to concentrate on the work´s individual form. Each of the five movements has its own character, yet the work as a whole can be understood as one continuous movement, in the manner of a stream hidden momentarily from earshot as it flows under the ´bridges´ of the pauses. Whenever motifs of melody, tone and rhythm reappear, they are brought together in ever-new relationships. A melodic fore-phrase, for example, returns as the after-phrase to a motif which has been, perhaps, an after-phrase to another motif, and so on.

My saxophone quartets No. 1-2-3 was composed between 1992 and 1995 and has the following titles:

Roads to Ixtlan , 1992-93
Viltir Svanir (Wild Swans), 1994
Dansere omkring Jupiter (Dancers around Jupiter), 1995

Per Nørgård (1995)

  • Ensemble
    Danish Saxophone Quartet
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.