Repertoire Search

Per Nørgård

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Secret Voices (2004)
Work Notes
Baseret på "Sonata - The secret melody', første del af 'Libro per Nobuko'.
Wilhelm Hansen
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
Jakob Kullberg
11 Minutes
Programme Note
Per Nørgård Secret Voices (2004)
SECRET VOICES (1992). For violin and cello.
SONATA - ´The Secret Melody´
I - Prologue,
II - Roaming,
III - Singing,
IV - Playing,
V - Epilogue
The name of the sonata in five movements is “LA MELODIA SEGRETA (THE SECRET MELODY). The title is borrowed from a book by Trinh Xuan Thuan, the Vietnamese astrophysicist. Of the mysterious and inexplicable order of the universe he writes: Nature sends us the notes of a music formed by a melody that will remain secret forever.
The five movements of the sonata circumscribe a hidden melody: a clear melodic shape appears often enough, but it soon reveals itself as being part of another, superior melody - and so on. In this labyrinthine way the three middle movements, framed by a short prologue and epilogue, unfold different moods (roaming, singing, playing) in an eternal hide-and-seek of the melody (melodies).
The version for violin and cello (of the original viola work, for Nobuko Imai) is by Jakob Kullberg.
Per Nørgård (2004)

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.