Repertoire Search

Anders Brødsgaard

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Maqam (2002)
Work Notes
til Esbjerg Ensemble
Wilhelm Hansen
Large Ensemble (7 or more players)
Year Composed
8 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
   Full Score

Programme Note
In Arabic and Turkish music maqam is a designation for a mode, in the same way as the better known concept raga is in Indian music. I use the word as the title of this piece - part of the five-movement work Opus Es that I wrote for the Esbjerg Ensemble in 2002 - because of the sound-association in the word suggesting Arabic-sounding melodic ornamentation.

The piece is a monophonic development of a melody that gradually carries more and more voices with it. These constantly move in parallel with the main melody in something that in time develops into a 12-part dissonant "mixture sound".
The piece lasts c. 8 minutes.

- Anders Brødsgaard

  • 03 SEP 2016
    Suså Festival 2016
    Grønnegade Ny Ridehus, Næstved, Denmark
    Athelas Sinfonietta Copenhagen

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.