Repertoire Search

Peter Bruun

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Twelve to Remember, Twelve to Come (2001)
Wilhelm Hansen
Soloist(s) and Large Ensemble (7 or more players)
Year Composed
13 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Alternate Orchestration
Trombone; 1(pic)(afl).1(ca).2.2/
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Peter Bruun Twelve to Remember, Twelve to Come (2001)
The trombone concerto has been given the slightly cryptic title Twelve to remember twelve to come. The title refers to twelve irregular beats that are struck at the start of the piece by the percussionist on three clanging bottles. The figure 12 later becomes the most important building-block in the rhythm of the piece, and the twelve beats from the beginning return right at the end. The concerto was written for the trombone virtuoso Jesper Juul Sørensen, originally for trombone and large chamber ensemble. It was given its first performance in 2001 by Jesper Juul Sørensen and Athelas Sinfonietta Copenhagen. Later the piece was reworked for trombone and orchestra - a version given its first performance by Jesper Juul Sørensen and the Aarhus Symphony Orchestra in 2003.

Peter Bruun.

  • Ensemble
    Danish Radio Sinfonietta
    Kasper Thaarup (trombone)
    Giordano Bellincampi
    Dacapo Open space:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.