Repertoire Search

Ole Buck

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Rejang (1986)
Wilhelm Hansen
Solo Works (excluding keyboard)
Year Composed
20 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score

Programme Note
Ole Buck Rejang (1986)
Ole Buck – Rejang

Programme Note
In REJANG for solo percussion I have linked elements from the music
of the Far East to a more Western way of thinking. The title can be
understood partly as a description of the instruments played, yielding
local associations, and partly as having an undefined ritual flavour,
inasmuch as it contains a particular idea.
To the almost aggressive character of this work I have added a sound from
nature, conveyed by a set of genuine Balinese Wind Mills (surely used
here for the first time in a Western work), which endow the work with a
more conciliatory transition between two areas which, however, remain
what they are: tendencies pushing in opposite directions.
The work is divided into five movements according to considerations of
timbre. Some kind of order, or limitation if you like, had to be imposed
on the almost chaotic events and ideas which lie behind at least some parts

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.