Repertoire Search

Bent Sørensen

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Sieben Sehnsüchte (1999)
Wilhelm Hansen
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
19 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Score and Part(s) Score and Part(s)

Programme Note
Bent Sørensen Sieben Sehnsüchte (1999)
Sieben Sehnsüchte was written in 1999 for David Alberman and Rolf Hind. As the title suggests, it is in seven movements - each more insanely difficult and bothersome than the other. All sorts of possible and impossible playing techniques have been used, and the performers have to both whistle and sing. However, it is not the intention that the slightly more unusual sound should be heard as effects. Everything is supposed to fuse together into something that is in itself a little opera - a ‘chamber piece’. It was written in a period when I was waiting impatiently for the libretto for Under the Sky, and I see it as a meeting (or seven meetings) between two people - two instruments - longing for each other; longing to merge together. The piece is a kind of sister work to Roses are Falling.

- Bent Sørensen

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.