Repertoire Search

Bent Sørensen

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

The Birds of Lament
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
8 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Bent Sørensen The Birds of Lament
Many years ago I heard the Irish myth about the Bird of Lament, the bird whose cries at night augur the death of a sailor at sea. My piece is full of 'lamento' whereas traces of birds only occur sporadically.

The Birds of Lament is the third piece in my trombone trilogy which also contains The Bells of Vineta for trombone solo and Birds and Bells for trombone and ensemble.

The piece was written for the Ensemble L'Itiniraire as a commission from the Gulbenkian Foundation.

- Bent Sørensen

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.