Repertoire Search

Julia Wolfe

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Lick (1994)
Red Poppy
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Sub Category
Mixed Ensemble
Year Composed
8 Minutes
Programme Note
Julia Wolfe Lick (1994)
Composer Note:

I see music as something other than presentation. Each piece is its own world that I've found a way into. It starts from an emotional place — not sentimental or an expression of an emotion — but connected to the spirit. I begin with an image — a fragment of a tune, a visual or sonic image — a joyous, active, rhythmic thing that unravels like a little knot. To really make a piece and not just piece things together, you have to be less attached to every moment and stand back and let the music go how it wants to go. It's a funny combination of intuition and construction. Lately I have been veering more towards the power of sound. There's an insistence, a feeling of pushing things to the edge, and there is a certain kind of groove, a dance quality. The body energy of pop music has come into my music and it is definitely in Lick. Motown, funk, rock. This is the music I grew up on — listening, dancing to it. It has a certain kind of freedom to it. "Lick" has a lot of meanings and the piece has to do with all the meanings you can think of. It's saucy and it has an edge. It's impatient; although it stays with things for a long time, it hammers at than. I took a fragment, a lick, and magnified it. And the beat is split up by all the players, so it becomes fragmented, a fragmented energy. The piece is about attacks, but it has a more sensual side. I really thought about the Bang on a Can All-Stars when I wrote it because I wanted to see them lock in with this intense energy. It's definitely over the top.

— Julia Wolfe

Julia Wolfe's Lick, a hot, dense piece based on what one might call terrorist rhythms, in that you never know when they'll strike.
David Patrick Stearns, Philadelphia Inquirer ,03/03/2009
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.