Repertoire Search

Rolf Wallin

Publisher: Chester Music

Sway (2010)
Commissioned by Westdeutscher Rundfunk for Wittener Tage für neue Kammermusik. Co-commissioned by Borealis Festival, Bergen, Norway, with funding from Arts Council Norway.
Chester Music Ltd
Works for 2-6 Players
Sub Category
String Trio
Year Composed
15 Minutes

Scores on subscription
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Rolf Wallin Sway (2010)
The word sway is one of many wonderfully multifaceted words in English, not only describing how trees sway in the wind, but also how one person can influence another.
Both meanings are applicable for this piece. In the world according to quantum mechanics – and classical East-Asian cosmology – nothing is permanent, but sways constantly from one state to another. For instance, one electron can suddenly shift from one behaviour to another in its race around the nucleus (the quantum leap). Each state has in its "belly" the seed of the other states, which can kick in without a warning.
In this piece, the three players could be viewed as electrons, never remaining in the same state for long. They sometimes are moving, simultaneously, in totally different ways, sometimes they are swayed by each other into similar behaviour.
In this piece, the three players could be viewed as people, never remaining in the same mood for long. They sometimes coexist in totally different states of mind, sometimes they are swayed by each other into the same way of being.
Just as the electrons can only move within a fixed set of movement patterns, and people have a limited register of moods, the players can only move between a fixed set of "musics". But each "music" has the other "musics" in its belly, which can kick in without a warning.
(c) Rolf Wallin

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.