Repertoire Search

Carl Vine

Publisher: Novello & Co

Symphony No. 4.2 (1993)
Chester Music Ltd
Sub Category
Large Orchestra
Year Composed
18 Minutes
Programme Note
Carl Vine Symphony No. 4.2 (1993)
My fourth symphony follows a line of progression through the preceding three. The bluntness and concision of the first (MicroSymphony) precedes the larger phrases and more surprising turns of the second. The third was conceived as a single large phrase that moves slowly from "darkness" to "light" (or uncertainty to affirmation), a process that is continued in the fourth.

Like its predecessors, the fourth is cast in a single movement comprising a number of discrete sections. The sombre opening is interrupted before evolving into an evasive passage of rhythmic interplay. The climax of this section collapses suddenly to reveal two romantic melodies that again build suddenly and fall away without warning. The Presto that follows would normally be the second movement _ a rapid moto perpetuo built on one note. The presto dies away to a transparent motive on solo piano. This once again evolves then decays, leading to a quiet and reflective finale.

In the 1998 revision to the work (Symphony No. "4.2"), the proportions between these sections has been altered dramatically, and a new presto section precedes the final chorale.

Symphony No. 4 was commissioned by the Sydney Youth Orchestra Association with assistance form the Music Board of the Australia Council.

  • Ensemble
    Sydney Symphony Orchestra
    Edo de Waart
    ABC Classics:
  • Ensemble
    Sydney Symphony Orchestra
    Edo de Waart
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.