Repertoire Search

Joan Tower

Publisher: AMP

Purple Rhapsody (2005),
Associated Music Publishers Inc
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Sub Category
Chamber Orchestra
Year Composed
17 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Joan Tower Purple Rhapsody (2005),
Composer Note:

PURPLE RHAPSODY was commissioned by the Omaha Symphony with the Buffalo Philharmonic, Virginia Symphony, Kansas City Symphony, ProMusica Chamber Orchestra, Peninsula Music Festival Orchestra and the Chautauqua Symphony Orchestra with a grant from the Serge Koussevitzky Music Foundation in the Library of Congress. The work is dedicated with affection to the wonderful violist Paul Neubauer who made it all possible.

The sound of the viola has always reminded me of the color purple-a deep kind of luscious purple. In fact, the first solo viola piece I wrote for Paul is called "Wild Purple" (where the "wild" refers to the high energy and virtuosity of that work).

In the concerto, I try to make the solo viola "sing"-trying to take advantage on occasion (not always) of the viola's inherent melodic abilities. This is not an easy task since the viola is one of the tougher instruments to pit against an orchestra.

In fact, for my orchestration of this work, I left out several instruments (horns and oboes) to thin out the background to allow the viola to come forward (even in strong passages) with a little more "leverage". I am hoping that at the climaxes of some of these "rhapsodic" and energetic lines, the orchestra does not overwhelm the viola.

The work lasts 18 minutes and is in one movement.

—Joan Tower

Reduction 50486854 for viola and piano for sale.
Orchestra parts avaialble on rental.

  • Soloist(s)
    ProMusica Chamber Orchestra
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.