Repertoire Search

John McCabe

Publisher: Novello & Co

String Quartet No 2 (1972)
commissioned for the Macclesfield Festival
Novello & Co Ltd
Works for 2-6 Players
Sub Category
String Quartet
Year Composed
13 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score
Set of Parts   

Programme Note
John McCabe String Quartet No 2 (1972)
Flessibile – Vivo – Largo – Deciso – Mesto – Deciso

This quartet is in one continuous movement, in which the variations of tempo and texture derive from the development of the two motifs heard at the start of the work, a slowing series of descending notes heard initially on the first violin and a chordal theme following this, played by the viola and cello. The four contrasting sections are clearly different in character, with a lyrical first movement, a stuttering, flickering Scherzo, a slow movement contrasting static passages with vehement solo cadenzas, and a decisive, vigorous finale. Despite the varied nature of these sections, however, the work is closely worked from the initial two ideas.

The quartet was commissioned by Ernest Scragg and Sons Ltd, on behalf of the Macclesfield Arts Festival, and first performed at the 1972 Festival by the Delme Quartet. It lasts about 14 minutes.

© 1991 John McCabe

  • Ensemble
    Camerata Ensemble
    Campion Cameo:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.