Repertoire Search

Philip Glass

Publisher: Chester Music

The Dracula Quartets (1998)
Work Notes
Music composed for the 1931 Tod Browning classic starring Bela Lugosi.
Dunvagen Music Publishers Inc
Works for 2-6 Players
Sub Category
String Quartet
Year Composed
1 Hour 10 Minutes
Programme Note
Philip Glass The Dracula Quartets (1998)
Experience this timeless classic brought to life in this edition, scored for the first time in 68 years with new music by Philip Glass.

Although there have been numerous screen versions of Bram Stoker's classic tale, none is more enduring than this 1931 original. Towering ominously among the shadows of the Carpathian Mountains, Castle Dracula strikes fear into the hearts of the Transylvanian villagers below. Bela Lugosi, starring as the screen's most popular vampire Count Dracula, together with horror specialist Director Tod Browning, create the film's eerie and chilling mood. Dracula remains a masterpiece not only of the genre, but for all time.

  • Ensemble
    Kronos Quartet
  • 26 AUG 2017
    Academy for Innovative Studies, Evansville, IN
    Main Street Dance/Ballet Indiana

    Other Dates:
    27 August - Academy for Innovative Studies, Evansville, IN
  • 22 FEB 2015
    Theater Regensburg, Regensburg, Germany
    Theater Regensburg
  • 02 DEC 2014
    Teatro Vittoria Torino, Italy
    Quartetto d’archi di Torino
  • 29 OCT 2014
    Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Holland
    Ragazze Kwartet
    Michael Riesman, conductor

    Other Dates:
    30 October - Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Holland
  • 25 MAY 2012
    Minimal: Glass at 75
    Royal Concert Hall, Glasgow
    Kronos Quartet
  • 31 MAR 2011
    WIT Music Society
  • 02 JUN 2010
    Romanian National Opera House, Romania
    Romanian National Opera House, conductor
  • 27 JUL 2006
    BRIC/Celebrate Brooklyn
    Prospect Park Bandshell, Brooklyn, NY
    Kronos Quartet
  • 27 MAY 2005
    Bunkamura Orchard Hall, Tokyo, Japan
    Philip Glass Ensemble
    Philip Glass; Michael Riesman, conductor

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.