Repertoire Search

Tarik O'Regan

Publisher: Novello & Co

Fragments from a Gradual Process (2005)
commissioned by ensemblebash
Novello & Co Ltd
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Year Composed
7 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Tarik O'Regan Fragments from a Gradual Process (2005)
Madeleine Mitchell
When I was asked to compose a piece as a concert-partner for Lou Harrison’s Concerto for Violin and Percussion Orchestra (or Koncherto por la Violono Kun Perkuta Orkestra, its official title in the Esperanto of which he was such a fervent advocate during his life), I was keen to write the antithesis of a concerto; I sought to create something that would involve all the players equally, performing strictly as one unit. Two very different examples of this attitude came to mind: the brief moment at the end of Stravinsky’s Soldier’s Tale (1918), where the violin blends into the percussion for a few seconds before vanishing and Steve Reich’s early-1970s loop-based compositions, Clapping Music and Six Pianos, written immediately after his trip to Ghana, where he studied drumming.

It seemed logical to allow the influence of Reich’s modern-day hocketing and Ghanaian-infused rhythmic ambiguities to permeate the periphery of my own piece as I already knew that the musical culture of Ghana is at the heart of ensemblebash. In addition, I decided to give a ‘nod’ to Stravinsky in the very opening violin chord, forming the basis of the first section which gradually shrinks with each of its three re-occurrences. While the background pulse remains constant (q = 252), the use of accenting and modulated time signatures creates a permanently shifting beat which is itself affixed to a broad sectional arrangement not dissimilar to a classical rondo.

It was interesting for me to watch how a completely new composition grew out of such geographically, musically and ideologically disparate stimuli. However, as Steve Reich wrote in his 1968 seminal essay, Music as a Gradual Process, ‘all music turns out to be ethnic music’.

Tarik O’Regan
Cambridge, Massachusetts
February, 2005

Score sample

  • Ensemble
    Ensemble Bash
    Madeleine Mitchell, violin
...explosive energy and barnstorming gestures.
Richard Morrison, The Times,26/04/2005
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.