Repertoire Search

John McCabe

Publisher: Novello & Co

Movements for Clarinet, Violin and Cello (1964)
Novello & Co Ltd
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
13 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score
Set of Parts   

Programme Note
John McCabe Movements for Clarinet, Violin and Cello (1964)
Lento - Allegretto - Allegro agitato - Adagio - Allegro agitato - Allegretto - Lento

This work was written in 1964 for the Gabrieli Ensemble, and revised in 1966. It takes a broadly palindromic shape, in that the last three movements are palindromes of the first three, played in reverse order. The central part of the work is an Adagio in which the more elaborate central section is framed by more static sections in which the clarinet has a hesitant tune above sustained string notes.

Movements, which is composed using a free variation technique to develop the ideas, was written as a reaction to William Faulkner's The Sound and the Fury, in that the full sense of the book is apparent only after one has finished reading it - similarly, though there is nothing very advanced or "difficult" about the musical language here, the music must ideally be appreciated as a whole, despite the diverse characteristics of the various short movements. The approach to overall texture and mood, however, is more that of a divertimento rather than an intellectual exercise for its own sake.

© 1991 by John McCabe

  • Ensemble
    Kreutzer Quartet
    Linda Merrick, Peter Sheppard Skaerved, Neil Heyde, Aaron Shorr.
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.