Repertoire Search

John McCabe

Publisher: Novello & Co

Concerto for Piano and Wind Quintet (1969)
commissioned by the Birmingham Chamber Concerts Society
Novello & Co Ltd
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
20 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Score and Part(s) Score and Part(s)

Programme Note
John McCabe Concerto for Piano and Wind Quintet (1969)
Maestoso - Allegro deciso - Maestoso - Lento - Vivo - Lento - Allegro marcato - Maestoso

This work was commissioned by the Birmingham Chamber Music Society and first performed by the composer with the Venturi Ensemble in February 1970. It is in five movements, played without a break and preceded by a Maestoso which introduces the main melodic material of the work, most of the themes and harmonies being largely derived from this opening section. The movements that follow the introduction contain an element of display that led me to call the work Concerto.

The first movement proper is a fast rondo, with much changing of time-signatures and decoration of the main subject group. It is linked by a horn cadenza to the second movement, which is slow, reflective in feeling, and dominated by two closely-related bassoon tunes. A clarinet cadenza (varying the material from the earlier one for horn) links this to the third movement, a scherzo of very light, scurrying textures and generally subdued dynamics, though there is a more emphatic central section.

This scherzo is a sort of rondo, with the piano's main subject expanded further on each appearance, and so also is the finale, combining rondo form with a kind of fugue in which the theme is varied on each entry. Between the scherzo and finale there is a short slow movement for the wind quintet alone. At the end of the finale, the work's opening flourish returns to close the piece in a mood of defiance.

© 1995 John McCabe

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.