Repertoire Search

John McCabe

Publisher: Novello & Co

Capriccio (Study No 1) (1969)
Novello & Co Ltd
Solo Keyboard(s)
Year Composed
7 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score

Programme Note
John McCabe Capriccio (Study No 1) (1969)
Capriccio, which is dedicated to Anthony Goldstone, was originally written for a recital given by the composer during the 1969 Dublin Festival - after the performance, in January 1969, it was revised. It is basically in ternary form, with an opening quick section, a central slow part principally based on some chordal material, and a return of the quicker music. A reference to the chords of the central part, plus the idea of a quickly repeated note with which the piece begins, takes it to a quiet conclusion.

The work is subtitled "Study No. 1" to indicate that it is the first in a series of such piano works - they are in a sense half technical studies for piano and half compositional studies. Certain aspects of pianistic technique (in this instance harmonics, quick repeated notes, and some sudden flourishes) have been used as the basic textural material for a piece which binds them into a relatively short structure of about 7 minutes. The predominant feeling of the piece is fairly light and open, with some emphasis on the tone-colours of the instrument used as part and parcel of the invention.

© 1991 by John McCabe

  • Soloist(s)
    Tamami Honma (piano)
  • Ensemble
    London Philharmonic Orchestra/National Youth Orchestra of Scotland
    John McCabe, piano
    John Snashall/John McCabe
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.