Repertoire Search

William Schuman

Publisher: AMP

String Quartet No. 4 (1950)
Associated Music Publishers Inc
Works for 2-6 Players
Sub Category
String Quartet
Year Composed
7 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Set of Parts Set of Parts
Study Score Study Score

Programme Note
William Schuman String Quartet No. 4 (1950)
The first performance of this work, commissioned by the Elizabeth Sprague Coolidge Foundation in the Library of Congress to honor the 150th Anniversary of the founding of the Library on Oct. 28, 1950, by the Hungarian String Quartet.

The work itself is in four movements, beginning with a “calm and relaxed” adagio. The energetic second movement, allegro con fuoco, is highly chromatic both melodically and harmonically. Movement three is another slower, lyrical movement of greater length and intensity than the first, and is followed by the presto of the finale, which is characterized by driving rhythmic force, skillfully interpolated from time to time with sustained chords and rests.

—J. Kenneth Wilson

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.