Repertoire Search

Gunther Schuller

Publisher: AMP

Marimbology (1993)
Associated Music Publishers Inc
Solo Works (excluding keyboard)
Year Composed
12 Minutes
Sale from Rental Library Explain this...
Programme Note
Gunther Schuller Marimbology (1993)
Commissioned by New Music Marimba, Percussive Arts Society
World Premiere: November 7, 1993

Composer Note:
Marimbology was written in the summer of 1993 on commission from New Music Marimba, Percussive Arts Society, William Moersch, Robert Van Sice, and Nancy Zeltsman, with a grant from the Meet-the-Composer/Reader’s Digest Commissioning Program. The work is in four contrasting movements, exploiting not only the wonderfully rich sonorities of the five-octave marimba, but its remarkable technical/virtuosic and expressive capacities. The opening movement, marked Scherzando, begins with a light trickle of high register sounds (like a tiny high-lying mountain spring), gradually running its course into the lower register, growing dynamically along the way, and eventually evolving into a jaunty scherzo in asymmetrical meters and odd rhythmic patterns. But soon the piece reverses itself, the long downward opening run now heading upwards (like running a film backwards) to a “sudden-death” chordal climax. The second movement, Rhapsody, explores the darker and more harmonic qualities of the marimba. The middle section consists of one-hand tremolo pedal points accompanying the dramatic fanfare-like gestures. The movement ends on a quiet, contemplative note. The ensuing Sarabande is stately in character, closing with a chorale-like passage and a wispy “after-thought.” The Finale, Toccata, features a plethora of ragtimey syncopations and jazzy swing. It is a virtuoso tour-de-force which stretches the technical boundaries of marimba playing to its farthest limits.

— Gunther Schuller

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.