Repertoire Search

Alfred Schnittke

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Life with an Idiot (1992)
Work Notes
available in the USA, Canada and Mexico only
Text Writer
Libretto by Viktor Erofeyev.
G Schirmer Inc
Opera and Music Theatre
Year Composed
Programme Note
Alfred Schnittke Life with an Idiot (1992)
The opera tells the story of The Wife and ‘I’, though the events do not necessarily take place in chronological order. In Soviet Russia, The Wife and ‘I’ decide to invite Vova, an idiot from the lunatic asylum to come and live with them. At first Vova’s behaviour is violent and disgusting. However when he copulates with The Wife, he becomes calmer and ‘I’ is sent off to live in another room on his own. When The Wife becomes pregnant, she aborts the child. Vova is enraged and moves to the room where ‘I’ lives, leaving The Wife to fend for herself. When The Wife comes to reclaim Vova, he decapitates her with a pair of kitchen scissors, to the disturbing excitement of ‘I’.

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.