Repertoire Search

Lennox Berkeley

Publisher: Chester Music

Sonatina for violin and piano (1942)
Chester Music Ltd
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Sub Category
Piano + 1 Instrument
Year Composed
14 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Lennox Berkeley Sonatina for violin and piano (1942)
Sonatina for Violin and Piano

This work was written with the idea of providing something that, though in a modern idiom (as it then was), would be easy to follow and not too difficult to play. For that reason, I chose the shortened sonata form and the type of material I thought suitable to my purpose. The first movement, like that of the Sextet, is in traditional form and is followed by a purely melodic slow movement lasting only for 37 bars. The third movement consists of a Theme followed by five Variations and a short re-statement of the first part of the theme. The fourth Variation is a Waltz.

The Sonatina was written in 1943.

  • Ensemble
    Schirmer Ensemble
  • Soloist(s)
    Edwin Paling (violin) Arabella Teniswood-Harvey (piano)
    Move Records:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.