Repertoire Search

Poul Ruders

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Cembal D'Amore - First Book (1986)
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Year Composed
25 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Poul Ruders Cembal D'Amore - First Book (1986)
Cembal d'Amore is a five-movement suite for harpsichord and piano which works with the timbres of two very different-sounding instruments.

The composer says that he ‘hears early music through the tears of centuries’. This moving formulation comes to expression in the work, in the sense that the early music glitters, so to speak, as a poetically imaginative undertone, through the highly contemporary structure. At one point the old music emerges so strongly in the sound-picture that it becomes quite tangible: a sarabande by Händel.

Just as the external appearance of the instruments embodies the opposition between ancient and modern, the work itself profiles a meticulously calculated tension between archaizing expression and contemporary construction.

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.