Repertoire Search

Poul Ruders

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Four Dances in One Movement (1983)
Work Notes
For big band
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Large Ensemble (7+ players)
Year Composed
18 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Poul Ruders Four Dances in One Movement (1983)
The piece, which was commissioned and premiered by The London sinfonietta, is a multi-emotional display for virtuoso ensemble, and "entertainment" in four contrasting moods: Whispering - Rocking - Ecstatic and Extravagant. The nervous distant trembling of the first dance is later on whipped into extremely direct and muscular proportions in the last, and the mellow tunes introduced by the second dance Rocking form the principal melodic scaffolding of the remainder of the composition, in fierce competition with a horn- and trombone fanfare thrown in immediately at the start of the fast and spiky third dance Ecstatic which employs African Djoboko-rhytms.

The two horizontal elements sweep along together, virtually melting into one line, and the hammering ‘avanti’ of the coda is suddenly stopped dead by a short, significant general pause. Thereafter the work reforms and disappears into a hushed, ghost-like recapitulation of the second dance.

- Poul Ruders

Score preview

  • Ensemble
    Athelas Ensemble
    Flemming Windekilde
    Danish Music Export & Promotion:
  • Ensemble
    Aarhus Sinfonietta
    Søren K. Hansen
  • Ensemble
    Birmingham Contemporary Music Group
    Oliver Knussen
  • Dacapo Records:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.