Repertoire Search

Poul Ruders

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Obokoncert (1998)
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Soloists and Large Ensemble (7+ players)
Year Composed
20 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Poul Ruders Obokoncert (1998)
The Small concerto for solo oboe and chamber orchestra was commissioned by The Royal Library of Copenhagen for the inauguration of a concert hall located at the new library annex, the so-called Black Diamond, September 1999.

The work as such focuses more on the contemplative and sonorously introvert, rather than more virtuosity; it is in four movements, what could be called four little tone-poems on (and inspired by) the names of the four moon craters known as: Lake of Dream - Ocean of Storms - Sea of Tranquillity - Lake of Death, four enigmatic and deeply fascinating ancient conceptions of the landscape on this our closest, but at the same time most legendary and myth-shrouded celestial body.

The work was composed in 1998 for Athelas-Sinfonietta Copenhagen and Swedish obo virtuoso Helen Jahren. The work was dedicated to Helen Jahren.

- Poul Ruders, March 1999

Score preview

It's a significant concerto, period, that creates a strong, alternative route for other composers to follow
David Patrick Stearns, artsJournalblogs,10/04/2013
Four images of lunar landscapes form a course of life where dreams evolve into storms and eventually die
Jens Brincker, Berlingske Tidende,08/09/1999
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.