Repertoire Search

Poul Ruders

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Dramaphonia (1987)
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Soloists and Large Ensemble (7+ players)
Year Composed
24 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Poul Ruders Dramaphonia (1987)
Dramaphonia for piano solo and 11 instruments forms the first part of a trilogy of solo-concertos, the remaining two being one for percussion and smaller symphony orchestra (Monodrama) and the last (Polydrama) for violoncello and full orchestra. All three pieces are in one movement each and may be performed together, thus presenting a vast "concerto grosso" of the duration of one hour and a half.

Each concerto, however, stands by itself, offering its own story: having employed the word "drama" in all three pieces, I naturally want to imply that something is "going on", a series of hidden events created by each listener’s own "inner theatre" which enables him to stage his own, personal associations, and in the case of Dramaphonia, the compositorical tension alters between action and frozen panoramas.

In the percussion concerto, the rhythmical progression is being constantly intensified, whereas the metric proportions of Dramaphonia tighten and loosen, like a magnifying glass being wielded in and out of focus.

Dramaphonia is commissioned and dedicated to Lontano and Poul Rosenbaum.

- Poul Ruders

  • Ensemble
    Aarhus Sinfonietta
    Erik Kaltoft (piano)
    Søren K. Hansen
  • Ensemble
    Poul Rosenbaum (piano)
    Odaline de la Martinez
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.