Repertoire Search

Poul Ruders

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Throne (1988)
Wilhelm Hansen
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
13 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Score and Part(s)   

Programme Note
Poul Ruders Throne (1988)
Throne (1988) for Clarinet and Piano was composed on a commission from the Swedish clarinetist Håkon Rosenberg. Structurally it is organized in an arch form.

Although it begins in the piano, the work can be considered as one long clarinet solo, where the piano’s role is that of extending and mirroring the clarinet, both in register and motif. As such the piano is treated as a monody throughout, until the last warm B Major chord embraces the final notes of the clarinet. On the title page the composer tells us that Throne is Elevation, Unity, Diamonds, Crown, Glory, Velvet, Frailty, Decline, Oblivion, Nothing.

In short Throne is and abstract tone-poem on the transitoriness of Life.

- Poul Ruders 1988

  • Soloist(s)
    John Kruse (clarinet), Per Salo (piano)
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.