Repertoire Search

Poul Ruders

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Studium (1999)
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Soloists and Orchestra
Year Composed
16 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
2 Percussion
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Poul Ruders Studium (1999)
Concerto for 2 percussion soloists and Orchestra

As indicated in the Latin title Studium, this concerto is a study or etude for virtuoso percussion and orchestra and a composer’s studium of the meticulous and patient building up a huge structure based on a very tight and sparse material. The title originally means and undertaking done with ardour and the wish to strive for the highest possible goal, a natural aim in any artistic endeavour.

The orchestra and the soloists work in a body towards the off-centre placed climax, the technical level of the soloists increasing form ensemble status to stupefying virtuosic display, whereas the orchestra maintains its tightly composed surround-sound. What then happens shall remain a surprise.

- Poul Ruders, November 2000

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.