Repertoire Search

Poul Ruders

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

13 Postludier (1988)
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Solo Keyboard(s)
Year Composed
23 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Poul Ruders 13 Postludier (1988)
The collection of short piano pieces entitled 13 Postludes for piano solo was written in 1989 for Danish pianist Amalie Malling, right on the heels of my first symphony Himmelhoch jauchzend - zum Tode betrübt, which was premiered in London during the 1990 Prom-season.

The involvement with the relatively simple task of writing for the piano after having dealt with the complexities of the enlarged symphony orchestra became a necessary ’un-winding’, physically as well as artistically, the result being a string of ’after-plays’ to the bigger piece as well as a string of rather melancholy character pieces, evoking the inherent thoughtfulness of the word 'Postlude’

The succession of the pieces runs as follows, Ostinato-Duetto-Toccata-Nocturne-Berceuse-Aria-Lachrimosa-Preambulum-March-Romance-Manége-Epilogue, and the 13th quest at the table; Requiem.

- Poul Ruders, June 1991

  • Soloist(s)
    Amalie Malling (piano)
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.