Repertoire Search

Kaija Saariaho

Publisher: Chester Music

Tag des Jahrs (2001)
commissioned by the Tapiola Chamber Choir and the Helsinki Chamber Choir Week, with support of the Madetoja Foundation and the National Council for Music
Work Notes
dedicated to the composer's mother. The electronic part was realized at the Civitella Ranieri Center, Italy with Jean-Baptiste Barrière
Text Writer
Friedrich Hölderlin
Chester Music Ltd
Chorus a cappella / Chorus plus 1 instrument
Year Composed
15 Minutes
Alternate Orchestration
2 sopranos, mezzo-soprano, countertenor, 2 tenors, bass, electronics

Scores on subscription
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score   
Set of Parts   

Programme Note
Kaija Saariaho Tag des Jahrs (2001)

I have been familiar with the late poems of Hölderlin for some time now and used some of them for several little pieces (Die Aussicht, Überzeugung). The idea for Tag des Jahrs for choir came to me a few years ago when someone very dear to me suffered a cerebral haemorrhage and communication with her acquired a new logic (or rather lack of it) because she no longer had any sense of time or place. I do not know what had happened to Hölderlin, for he signed his poems under different dates, decades, even centuries from the time in which he lived, and under the name of Scardanelli. I nevertheless acquired a new insight into his poems as visions of lived moments that pass in the twinkling of an eye and then vanish or transform into new, intensive moments. Our minds are full of such clear; sensuous moments, and they in fact make up our own experience of the life we live.

The text begged to be given an archaic choral treatment. I also wanted to expand the sound world in the direction of the nature that is so present in these poems. Hence the material consists not only of taped human voice but also of birds, the wind and other nature sounds. The electronic part was realized in summer 2001 at the Civitella Ranieri studio, Italy with Jean-Baptiste Barrière.
Tag des Jahrs is dedicated to my mother.
(c) Kaija Saariaho

Poems by Friedrich Hölderlin

Der Frühling

Wenn neu das Licht der Erde sich gezeiget,
Von Frühlingsregen glänzt das grüne Thal und munter
Der Blüthen Weiß am hellen Strom hinunter,
Nachdem ein heitrer Tag zu Menschen sich geneiget.

Die Sichtbarkeit gewinnt von hellen Unterschieden,
Der Frühlingshimmel weilt mit seinem Frieden,
Daß ungestört der Mensch des Jahres Reiz betrachtet,
Und auf Vollkommenheit des Lebens achtet.

Mit Unterthänigkeit,
d. 15. Merz 1842

Der Sommer

Die Tage gehn vorbei mit sanffter Lüffte Rauschen,
Wenn mit der Wolke sie der Felder Pracht vertauschen,
Des Thales Ende trifft der Berge Dämmerungen,
Dort, wo des Stromes Wellen sich hinabgeschlungen.

Der Wälder Schatten sieht umhergebreitet,
Wo auch der Bach entfernt hinuntergleitet,
Und sichtbar ist der Ferne Bild in Stunden,
Wenn sich der Mensch zu diesem Sinn gefunden.

d. 24. Mai 1758

Der Herbst

Das Glänzen der Natur ist höheres Erscheinen,
Wo sich der Tag mit vielen Freuden endet,
Es ist das Jahr, das sich mit Pracht vollendet,
Wo Früchte sich mit frohem Glanz vereinen.

Das Erdenrund ist so geschmükt, und selten lärmet
Der Schall durchs offne Feld, die Sonne wärmet
Den Tag des Herbstes mild, die Felder stehen
Als eine Aussicht weit, die Lüffte wehen.

Die Zweig’ und Äste durch mit frohem Rauschen,
Wenn schon mit Leere sich die Felder dann vertauschen,
Der ganze Sinn des hellen Bildes lebet
Als wie ein Bild, das goldne Pracht umschwebet.

d. 15ten Nov. 1759

Der Winter

Wenn sich der Tag des Jahrs hinabgeneiget
Und rings das Feld mit den Gebirgen schweiget,
So glänzt das Blau des Himmels an den Tagen,
Die wie Gestirn in heitrer Höhe ragen.

Der Wechsel und die Pracht ist minder umgebreitet,
Dort, wo ein Strom hinab mit Eile gleitet,
Der Ruhe Geist ist aber in den Stunden
Der prächtigen Natur mit Tiefigkeit verbunden.

Mit Unterthänigkeit,
d. 24. Januar 1743

Score Sample

  • Ensemble
    Tapiola Chamber Choir, Ostrobothnian Chamber Orchestra
    Hannu Norjanen
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.