Repertoire Search

Michael Nyman

Publisher: Chester Music

Zoo Caprices (1985)
Commissioned by Alexander Balanescu
Chester Music Ltd
Solo Works (excluding keyboard)
Year Composed
27 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Set of Parts Set of Parts

Programme Note
Michael Nyman Zoo Caprices (1985)
· Michael Nyman
· Zoo Caprices: for solo violin
· The Lady in the Red Hat 2
· Swan Rot 4
· Up for Crabs 6
· Car Crash 6
· Bisocosis Populi 8
· Venus de Milo 10
· Angelfish Decay 11
· Vermeer's Wife Watches Prawns 12
· Time Lapse 14

A transcription of a work for small orchestra (the score for Peter Greenaway's film A Zed & Two Noughts) for a solo violin may seem a foolhardy proposition were it not for the stunning virtuosity of Alexander Balanescu who has inspired a number of my compositions in the past six years and who was creatively involved in suggesting, demonstrating and modifying many of the violinistic 'solutions' to the transfer of a multi-layered, multi textured work to a (so-called) single line instrument. This was composed in 1986 and first performed in Paris on 8 April 1986.

© Michael Nyman

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.