Repertoire Search

Robert Xavier Rodríguez

Publisher: G. Schirmer

Flight: The Story of Wilbur and Orville Wright (2002)
Text Writer
Sukey Smith
G Schirmer Inc
Soloists and Orchestra
Sub Category
Soloists and Large Orchestra
Year Composed
23 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Female narrator
Programme Note
Robert Xavier Rodríguez Flight: The Story of Wilbur and Orville Wright (2002)
An inspiring commemoration of the centennial (1903-2003) of powered flight. A female narrator portrays the Wright Brothers' younger sister, Katharine, in period costume. The orchestra dramatically underscores her recounting of her brothers' childhood dreams of flight, their early experiments, her fears for their safety and the eventual triumph of the two American heroes. The musical score includes three brief musical quotations: the hymn "Rise Up, O Men of God," as the text mentions "Sundays — our day of church and family"; a fragment from Paul Dukas' The Sorcerer's Apprentice at the mention of "magic"; and the "Avarice" theme from Rodríguez' own ballet, The Seven Deadly Sins at the mention of "other inventors — hungry for fame and fortune." Real airplane "zooms" join the orchestra in the exciting finale: a natural for the Fourth of July or other patriotic celebrations.

  • Ensemble
    Dayton Philharmonic Concert Orchestra
    Allison Janney (Spoken Vocals)
    Neal Gittleman
    Albany Records:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.