Repertoire Search

Judith Weir

Publisher: Chester Music

Arise! Arise! You Slumbering Sleepers (1999)
Commissioned by Judy Mowschenson in memory of her sister, Rosalind Hunter, and by the Schubert Ensemble Trust, Chamber Music 2000
Chester Music Ltd
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Sub Category
Piano Quartet
Year Composed
3 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Judith Weir Arise! Arise! You Slumbering Sleepers (1999)
Arise! Arise! , for piano quartet, was written for the Schubert Ensemble/Chamber Music 2000 in 1999. It is based on an English/American folksong called 'Arise! Arise! you slumbering sleepers'., which is heard in fragments against a bell-like ostinato. I have dedicated the piece to Margaret Semple, who taught me music, in the most inspiring way, when I was at school.

© Judith Weir

Sample Pages

  • Ensemble
    Schubert Ensemble
    William Howard, Susan Tomes, Petra
  • Ensemble
    Schubert Ensemble
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.