Repertoire Search

Richard Rodney Bennett

Publisher: Novello & Co

Country Dances (Book 1) (2001)
Novello & Co Ltd
Sub Category
Chamber Orchestra
Year Composed
12 Minutes
Programme Note
Richard Rodney Bennett Country Dances (Book 1) (2001)
Score preview:

Partita is for much of its three-movement course indistinguishable from Bennett’s basic film-score idiom, though there are passages – the opening movement’s second section, for instance –in which reassuringly familiar melodic material is accompanied by and unusually high level of chromatic and textural density. Two Country dances proved to be natural successors to Peter Walock’s Capriol Suite, while Concerto for Stan Getz integrates its jazz elements with a deft touch into more classical writing for the strings and the timpani that accompany the solo tenor saxophone. Andy Scott was the soloist here, demonstrating apparently effortless control of all the dimensions of his part.
Keith POtter, The Independent,09/03/2006
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.