Repertoire Search

Nicola LeFanu

Publisher: Novello & Co

Ervallagh (1993)
commissioned by the Park Lane Group with funds from the Robert Hicks Memorial Award
Novello & Co Ltd
Solo Works (excluding keyboard)
Year Composed
5 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Nicola LeFanu Ervallagh (1993)
Ervallagh is a little prelude lasting about five minutes. Like my other saxophone works, the quartet (1986) and the concerto (1990), it uses microtones throughout. It is a single train of thought, predominantly reflective. It is curiously valedictory in tone; perhaps because of echoes of Blood Wedding, sound-world from which I had already moved on; perhaps because it was composed in the West of Ireland, as I re-discovered childhood haunts. Ervallagh is in Connemara: a scatter of cottages in the lea of the mountains, looking out to sea, to the Aran Islands.

Ervallagh was commissioned by the Park Lane Group, with funds from the Robert Hicks Memorial Award (administered by the Clarinet and Saxophone Society of Great Britain). It was first performed by Kay Bywater in January 1994.

© Nicola LeFanu

  • Soloist(s)
    John-Edward Kelly, saxophone
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.