Repertoire Search

Nicola LeFanu

Publisher: Novello & Co

The Silver Strand (1989)
Text Writer
Rabindranath Tagore, trad., John Fuller
Novello & Co Ltd
Chorus a cappella / + 1 instrument
Year Composed
10 Minutes
SATB (adapted from 'Stranded on my Heart')
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Nicola LeFanu The Silver Strand (1989)
The Silver Strand is a lullaby sequence for unaccompanied choir, written in 1989 for Collegium Musicum. I drew my texts from many sources: from nursery rhymes, from Tagore and from contemporary poets David Sutton and John Fuller. I took from the Upanishads the words I used as a chorale text: ‘Resting I wander afar - Sleeping I go everywhere’. It is adapted from a longer work, Stranded on My Heart, for choir and string orchestra, written some years earlier. I described both
pieces as ‘lullabies for grown ups as well as children’, and the dedication is ‘to all my friends in the peace movement’. The Silver Strand lasts about 12 minutes; its title is the name of the favourite beach of my childhood, in County Wicklow.

Nicola LeFanu

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.