Repertoire Search

Nicola LeFanu

Publisher: Novello & Co

Moon Over Western Ridge, Mootwingee: Quartet for Saxophones (1985)
Novello & Co Ltd
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
13 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score
Set of Parts Set of Parts

Programme Note
Nicola LeFanu Moon Over Western Ridge, Mootwingee: Quartet for Saxophones (1985)
This quartet was written in Sydney in 1984, just after I had returned from a month in the outback country of Western New South Wales. Perhaps the listener will discern in the music some of the images I brought back from that trip: great distances, great quiet; ancient trees standing in the white sand of a dry creek bed; groves of golden wattle, alive with birds; grey-green desert as far as the eye can see, broken by ranges of craggy hills; shapes ever-changing, in the shimmer of midday heat or the shadowy world of a moonlit night. The quartet lasts for about fifteen minutes, and was composed especially for the Rascher Quartet. Its harmony moves from diatonic clarity into the shaded world of microtones.

Nicola LeFanu

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.