Repertoire Search

Nicola LeFanu

Publisher: Novello & Co

Lament 1988 (1988)
commissioned by Capricorn with funds from Greater London Arts
Novello & Co Ltd
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Year Composed
16 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Nicola LeFanu Lament 1988 (1988)
The Lament of the title refers to two anniversaries which too place in 1988. Firstly, July 18th was the 70th birthday of Nelson Mandela. Secondly, 1988 was the year in which Australia celebrated its bi-centennial. The arrival of the English in January 1788 was the beginning of the end for the Aborigines.

My quartet has a quality of lament running right through it, from the out-cry at the opening which returns in many different guises through the central cor anglais solo to the concluding viola solo. The scoring was chosen for its dark colour: oboe doubling cor anglais, clarinet doubling bass clarinet, viola and cello. The melodic lines and harmony are often inflected with quarter-tones.

Lament 1988 was written for Capricorn, who commissioned it with funds provided by GLAA.

© Nicola LeFanu

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.