Repertoire Search

Nicola LeFanu

Publisher: Novello & Co

Invisible Places (1986)
commissioned by the Reverend Hugh Sargent
Novello & Co Ltd
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Year Composed
16 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Nicola LeFanu Invisible Places (1986)
This piece lasts about 12 minutes, and it plays continuously, although it is made up of 16 small movements. Throughout, the four string players form a group: sometimes the clarinet is caught up with them, but more often it is like a person pursuing an independent train of thought: sometimes talking to itself, sometimes conversational, sometimes singing.

The starting point for my Quintet was Italo Calvino’s Invisible Cities: like the book, my piece is composed from many small contrasting ideas that are constantly transforming, some coming to the fore as others recede. My Quintet is dedicated to Hugh Sargent, who commissioned it.

© Nicola LeFanu

  • Soloist(s)
    Sarah Leonard, soprano; Aleksander Szram, piano
    Metier Records:
Nicola LeFanu’s Invisible Places is a magical work. Written in 1986 for clarinet solo and string quartet, this music was inspired by the Italian author Italo Calvino’s Invisible Cities. The language is modernistic, but hardly off-putting. There is much in the pages of this score that is quite lovely.
John France, MusicWeb International,01/03/2017
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.