Repertoire Search

Elizabeth Maconchy

Publisher: Chester Music

Reflections (1960)
Chester Music Ltd
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Year Composed
12 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Elizabeth Maconchy Reflections (1960)

This work was composed in 1960 to a commission from the BBS and was first performed by the Melos Ensemble at a BBC invitation Concert in April 1961.
The title is purposely ambiguous intending to suggest several possible meanings. There are four short contrasting movements which all reflect in various ways on the opening of the work. The ideas derive thematically from this opening material and they spring to a great extent from the individual character of the four instruments.

Elizabeth Maconchy

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.