Repertoire Search

Elizabeth Maconchy

Publisher: Chester Music

Fantasia (1979)
commissioned by Thea King
Chester Music Ltd
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
11 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Set of Parts Set of Parts

Programme Note
Elizabeth Maconchy Fantasia (1979)

This work was commissioned by Thea King with funds provided by the Arts Council of Great Britain and first performed by her and Paula Fen at the International Clarinet Congress in Denver, Colorado, on 12 August 1980. I wrote it in admiration and affection for Thea King and with her playing in mind. It lives up to its title of FANTASIA by combining a number of contrasted ideas within one continuous movement and lasting about ten minutes.

The opening phrases for clarined alone give rise to much of the subsequent material, both melodic and harmonic, and help to bring the piece together. A slow middle section introduces ideas of a different character. After a restatement of the opening this time with the addition of big chords for the piano, a climax is reached and the work ends quickly.

Elizabeth Maconchy

  • 28 SEP 2007
    10th London New Wind Festival / Maconchy Centenary 2007
    Lauderdale House, Highgate, London
    New Wind Chamber Group
  • 19 MAR 2007
    Maconchy Centenary 2007
    Concert Hall, Royal College of Music, London
    Students of the Royal College of Music

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.