Repertoire Search

Elizabeth Maconchy

Publisher: Chester Music

Colloquy (1979)
commissioned by Ingrid Culliford
Chester Music Ltd
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
12 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Set of Parts Set of Parts

Programme Note
Elizabeth Maconchy Colloquy (1979)

COLLOQUY was commissioned by Ingrid Culliford ans Shellagh Sutherland with funds provided by the Arts Council of Great Britain. They gave the first performance on 2 June 1979 at Wigmore Hall, London. It is in four concise movements. The first is forthright with rather angular themes, but with a brief lyrical section, echoed at the close. A fleeting Scherzo follows:at the centre point it turns momentarily into a dreamlike walz, overheard as it were from the distance. The slow movement is improvisatory in character. The finale is a rigorous and lively affair, interrupted only by a reminiscence of the lyrical idea from the first movement.

  • Soloist(s)
    I. Culliford, flute / D. Saunders, piano
  • Soloist(s)
    Christine Hankin (flute), Tim Murray (piano)
    Dutton Epoch:
  • 04 FEB 2007
    Maconchy Centenary 2007
    Wigmore Hall, London
    Neil McLaren (flute) Jane Beament (piano)

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.