Repertoire Search

Kevin Volans

Publisher: Chester Music

String Quartet No 4 "The Ramanujan Notebooks" (1990)
Work Notes
dedication: Elizabeth Chatwin
Chester Music Ltd
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
26 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score
Set of Parts Set of Parts

Programme Note
Kevin Volans String Quartet No 4 "The Ramanujan Notebooks" (1990)
The first movement is a reworking of material I wrote for Shobana Jeyasingh’s dance opera Correspondences, a full length work based on the life and work of the Indian mathematician S. Ramanujan (1887-1920). The commission was extremely unusual insofar as, in Baratha Natyam, the foot-patterns and rhythms of the dancers were worked out first by Shobana. I then wrote music to match these. In the quartet I have remodelled some of the rhythms to make them more fluid. The first movement is in 2 parts.

The second movement was written in 1994 and is derived largely from my orchestral piece One Hundred Frames. The piece is dedicated to Elizabeth Chatwin.

Kevin Volans

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.