Repertoire Search

Kevin Volans

Publisher: Chester Music

Asanga (1997)
Work Notes
preview performance 12 June 1998, Deutsches Theater, Berlin Dedicated to Robin Schulkowsky
Chester Music Ltd
Solo Works (excluding keyboard)
Year Composed
8 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Set of Parts Set of Parts

Programme Note
Kevin Volans Asanga (1997)
The Sanskrit title ‘Asanga’ means 'freedom from attachment' I wrote the piece as a gift for Robyn Schulkowsky on the death of her father. It was written with no conscious techniques or concept. The first performance was in Stockholm in 1998.

Kevin Volans

Score sample

  • Soloist(s)
    Jonny Axelsson
    j a p r :
I mean no disrespect to other percussionists when I say that Axelsson is the most extraordinary drummer I have seen, or to other composers when I say that She who Sleeps with a Small Blanket (1985) and Asanga (1998) are the most extraordinary works: ferocious, lyrical and human.
Anna Picard, The Independant on Sunday,08/11/2009
[The] recital was a showcase of Volans' imagination, his ability to draw an almost infinite array of patterns and effects from a relatively limited range of unpitched instruments. The 1985 She Who Sleeps with a Small Blanket is already a bit of a classic. The brief and violent Asanga (1997), however, and the expansive and wonderfully intricate Akrodha (1998) are not so well known, but clearly should be.
Andrew Clements, The Guardian,24/11/2004
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.