Repertoire Search

Thea Musgrave

Publisher: Novello & Co

Lamenting with Ariadne (1999)
commissioned by Birmingham Contemporary Music Group with financial support from West Midlands Arts and BCMG Sound Investors
Novello & Co Ltd
Large Ensemble (7 or more players)
Year Composed
16 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Thea Musgrave Lamenting with Ariadne (1999)
At the beginning, imagine Ariadne and her companions standing on a lonely seashore watching a tall ship departing into the misty distance. Ariadne (represented by a solo viola) is desolate at the sudden unexplained departure of Theseus; she has outbursts of despairing anger. These two moods of desolation and anger alternate, slow 'anchor chords' always returning at the same pitches, separated by passionate cadenza-like passages. Ariadne’s companions are unable to comfort her.

Then, in the distance, Dionysus (represented by an offstage trumpet) approaches, At first, Ariadne does not even hear him. Eventually he enters and the music suddenly changes: not only the tempo, which now goes very fast, but also the instrumental colour (the bass clarinet takes up the clarinet and the percussion player changes from metals - tam-tam, tubular bells, vibraphone and cymbals - to the marimba, with its wooden slats).

Dionysus then invites each of the players to join in a whirling celebration and, in the end, even Ariadne is roused from her grief to take part with joy and abandon. As the trumpet and viola sing a duet together, the music rises to a climax.

Then, a soft and serene coda re-introduces the viola’s 'anchor chords' from the beginning, but by now, they are transformed into a melting cadence.

This work for eight players (flute, clarinet, trumpet, harp, percussion, violin, viola and cello) was written in the spring and summer months of 1999 and lasts about sixteen minutes.

Thea Musgrave

  • Ensemble
    Daniel Panner, viola
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.