Repertoire Search

Richard Rodney Bennett

Publisher: Novello & Co

Arethusa (1989)
commissioned by North West Arts, John Wates and John Lewis plc for Graham Salter and Arethusa
Novello & Co Ltd
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed

Scores on subscription
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score   
Set of Parts   

Programme Note
Arethusa was a wood nymph who was pursued by Alpheus, the river god. To escape him, she turned into a fountain. The river went underground and returned to the surface, uniting them.

Allegro lirica - Cadenza I (cello) - Presto - Cadenza II (oboe) - Poco adagio (played without a break)

Commissioned by Graham Salter and Emer Calthorpe for the Arethusa Oboe Quartet, with funds made available by the John Lewis Partnership, John Wates Esq. And North West Arts.

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.